Be Thankful

I thought I’d share my Thanksgiving post a day early because tomorrow I’ll be busy with traveling, visiting with family, and of course…eating (hope I don’t gain too much)!

I hope that all of my readers take a quiet minute this holiday–away from all the noise, the eating, the joke-telling, the laughing–and really think about all the blessings you have. Perhaps you’re someone like me who tends to look at what others have instead of being grateful for the things you do have. I confess that so many days out of the year I focus on how rotten my life is, how I don’t have enough money, how everyone else looks so happy and rarely do I really see how blessed I really am. It’s during these times that I force myself to think about people in other places in the world who are living with no food, water, in constant fear of their lives, or those living in a country torn apart by civil or political war. And here I am, complaining about having too old of a car. I admit that’s really a selfish mindset.

We Americans live in a free country, one that has been very blessed by God. We don’t have to worry about whether we’ll be killed going to church, or whether our water will stop coming out of our faucets, and most of us don’t worry where our next meal will come from. Be thankful for everything–even the smallest of things such as the sense of taste or smell–because some people in the world live without those benefits. And this Thanksgiving, out of the abundance of what you have, remember those in our community and society who have far less. Thursday, remember what the day is really about.

“The unthankful heart… discovers no mercies; but let the thankful heart sweep through the day and, as the magnet finds the iron, so it will find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings!” -Henry Ward Beecher

Leave a Reply

